top of page


Untitled 4.png

Current Position:

Founding and Managing Director (2014- ), African Centres for Lightning and Electromagnetics Network (

Professor Emerita (2009- ), Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago, Illinois, USA


1967-1971 BS Biochemistry, Magna Cum Laude, Lyman Briggs College, Michigan State University

1971-1974 MD, College of Human Medicine, Michigan State University

1975-1976 Internship: William Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Michigan

1976-1978 Residency: Emergency Medicine, University of Cincinnati Medical Center

Publications: 6 Books and monographs, 95 Peer reviewed publications, 2 Letters to the Editor, 3 Editorials, 120 Chapters, 15 non-peer reviewed publications

Presentations / Symposia: 85+ international meetings, 130+ national meetings, 150+ regional/local meetings

Medical Licensure: Illinois 036073258

Selected Society Offices:

1983 Founding Member, Wilderness Medical Society (WMS)

1985 Board Member and Officer, University Association for Emergency Medicine (UAEM)

1987 President and Board Member, Society for Teachers of Emergency Medicine (STEM)

1991- Founding and Board Member, Lightning Strike and Electric Shock Survivors, International (LSESSI)


Selected Government, Media and Other Consulting:

U.S. Government: National Aeronautical and Space Administration (NASA), National Park Service (NPS),

National Weather Service (NWS), National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

U.S. National College Athletic Association (NCAA) – Lightning safety policies – author and reviewer

National Athletic Trainers Association white paper on lightning safety – author and reviewer

Hundreds of media interviews, consultations, documentaries in the US and throughout the world on lightning injury, prevention and safety

Invited Expert, NAM S&T International Lightning Protection Conferences: Kathmandu, Nepal 10/2011; African Regional Lightning Training Program, Uganda 2/2013; ACLE-Zambia, Lusaka 8/2015

National Lightning Safety Council core member

Selected Honors and Awards:

1982 Charter Fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians

1994 Charter Member and Fellow, American Association of Emergency Medicine

2001 American Meteorological Society Special Award ‘for outstanding work on the medical effects of lightning which has enhanced the treatment of lightning strike victims and revolutionized lightning safety worldwide’

2003 Awarded Fellowship in the American Meteorological Society - first physician to be awarded this honor

2005 Selected as University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine nominee for ‘Distinguished Faculty of the Year’

2005 Awarded Kitagawa International Medal in Keraunomedicine

2008 Research Award, Wilderness Medical Society

2014 International Conference on Lightning Protection Scientific Committee Award for ‘For recognition of

dedicated service and notable contributions to the advancement of the field of lightning research and/or lightning protection as a researcher or teacher.’


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
bottom of page